Then I Let Go

Standard

This poem has a lot of sentimental meaning to me. At the time I wrote this poem, I was trying to figure out how to move on from a toxic friendship. It was extremely difficult for me to “let go” of this person and move on because they played such a huge roll in my life and were there for me in so many ways for so many years.


Then I Let Go

Today I woke up and thought of you, the same as I always do. I saw your smile. I felt your touch. I closed my eyes and I heard your voice.

I took a walk this afternoon and thought of you, the same as I always do. I miss the time we used to spend together. I miss your voice the most. Everything reminds me of you. Even though you are not around I can still feel you here.

Before I fell asleep I thought of you, the same as I always do. Will this ever get any easier? Why can’t I let go? Sometimes thoughts of you consume my mind. You may not be here, but you are always in my dreams.

Today I woke up and thought of you, the same as I always do. I saw your smile. I felt your touch. I closed my eyes and I heard your voice.

I took a drive this afternoon to get you out of my mind. You have been everywhere lately. I can’t seem to let you go. I went to the place that reminded me of you the most. I just sat there thinking of you. You loved me. You never judged. Always cared. You saved me. I finally realized how to let you go.

Before I fell asleep I saw you. I touched your face. I held your hand. I kissed your cheek. I didn’t have to close my eyes to hear your voice because you were there. You looked tired. Your eyes were sad. You were broken and I was to blame.

Today I woke up and thought of you, the same as I always do. And then I let go.

–Brittany Kraft 4/3/2016

Leave a Reply

